Energy, Mines and Resources

Land Planning

Shallow Bay zoning regulation

The Government of Yukon and Ta'an Kwäch'än Council are working with local community members on developing potential zoning regulations for the Shallow Bay area. 

Latest Updates

The seventh meeting of the Shallow Bay Zoning Committee was held on March 5, 2019.

Background Information

In 2014, Yukon government received a request from some Shallow Bay property owners to consider possible zoning changes which would allows rural residential lots to be subdivided. To date, there have been three public meetings and two surveys to collect public input on potential zoning changes in the area.

The goal of a new zoning regulation is to promote orderly development and land use within the area while supporting the quality of local for local residents and protecting Shallow Bay's wetlands.

Zoning Committee

The Government of Yukon and Ta'an Kwäch'än Council have established a Zoning Committee to assist with developing draft zoning regulations for the Shallow Bay area.

The committee consists of six members, including four members appointed by the Department of Energy, Mines and Resource and two members appointed by Chief and Council of the Ta'an Kwäch'än Council. Each government may also designate one alternate member to assist in committee work when regular members are not able to attend a meeting. 

Yukon government appointees
Don Allen
Pat Hogan
Florian Lemphers 
Nellie Dale

Ta'an Kwäch'än Council appointees
Ruth Massie
John Bunbury
Betsy Jackson (alternate)

Related Documents 

Contacts for Shallow Bay zoning regulation

Roy Neilson
Yukon Government
Land Use Planner
Toll free: 1.800.661.0408 ext. 3531

Natalie Leclerc
Ta’an Kwäch’än Council
Land Use Planning Coordinator
867.668.3613 ext. 604